Annual Review

01.01.15—31.12.15

In 2015, through themes like lifelogging, home\sick, secret and trauma, we investigated some of the most pressing topics of concern within research and society, including data privacy, encryption and security, the internet of things, impacts of modern warfare, human migration, collision in sport and the human microbiome.

Science Gallery provides the intellectual space necessary to initiate and sustain [society's] essential conversations.
The Guardian

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2015 Annual Report

01.01.14—31.12.14

What can failure tell us about success? Fat may be delicious but can it make us healthy? Why is our weather getting weirder? Why are we fascinated by vampires but fearful of needles? These were just some of the tantalising and tricky questions that Science Gallery at Trinity College Dublin explored in 2014.

...it is an unqualified success and Trinity is immensely proud of Science Gallery.
Linda Hogan, Vice-Provost of Trinity College Dublin

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2014 Annual Report

01.01.13—31.12.13

In 2013 Science Gallery attracted and inspired record numbers of visitors through creative encounters at the boundary between science and art, welcoming an extraordinary 339,264 visitors (surpassing all previous years), and making the gallery one of Ireland’s most popular free visitor attractions.

A place of integrity, a place of absolute excitement, of change. [They are] creating the future before our eyes.
An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2013 Annual Report

01.01.12—31.12.12

In 2012, less than five years after opening our doors, we welcomed the one millionth visitor to Science Gallery at Trinity College Dublin. This was just one of many landmark occasions as Science Gallery enjoyed its most ambitious year to date—with more exhibition launches, visitors, members, media coverage and event participants than ever before.

The highly acclaimed Science Gallery on Dublin’s Pearse Street has been bringing cutting-edge developments in science, technology and the arts to the public since 2008, through interactive and award-winning exhibits... It is not difficult to see why the idea is proving so successful.
Ann O’Dea The Sunday Times

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2012 Annual Report

01.01.11—31.12.11

2011 was a year of significant growth in reach and impact for Science Gallery, with 242,189 visitors (a 19% increase in visitor numbers with respect to 2010) making us one of the top ten free visitor attractions in Ireland, a 21% increase in turnover and an operating surplus.

Science Gallery is one of the places that most inspires the Exploratorium because it works against type. It consciously avoids easy categorization and constantly experiments. We find our best company intellectually among such daring misfits.
Dennis M. Bartels CEO of Exploratorium, San Francisco

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2011 Annual Report

01.01.10—31.12.10

Science Gallery’s mission of igniting creativity and discovery where science and art collide has acquired even more urgency in 2010. Never before has there been such broad consensus that completely new approaches to traditional problems are required, and that we need to cultivate a generation of creative, agile thinkers and doers, able to bring together insights from diverse disciplines and to move between science and art, between business and technology.

Science Gallery is a place where scientific questions become culturally embedded, revealing to us not just the power of science as a means of discovery about the natural world, but also its critical role at the heart of contemporary social and aesthetic concerns.
Margaret Wertheim, Institute for Figuring

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2010 Annual Report

01.01.09—31.12.09

SCIENCE GALLERY WAS FIRMLY ESTABLISHED AS IRELAND’S MOST INNOVATIVE CULTURAL SPACE IN 2009. WITH EXHIBITIONS RANGING FROM INFECTIOUS — WHICH LAUNCHED JUST AS A WORLD PANDEMIC EMERGED — THROUGH TO THE FAMILY FRIENDLY SHOW BUBBLE — WHICH BROKE SCIENCE GALLERY VISITOR NUMBER RECORDS - THE YEAR SAW A CONTINUED GROWTH IN ITS AUDIENCE AND PROGRAMME.

Science Gallery is a wonderful resource bringing the applications of science to life and demonstrating how important creativity and imagination are to scientific research.AND PROGRAMME.
Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain, Science teacher and TV presenter

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2009 Annual Report

02.02.08—01.01.09

Science Gallery opened its doors to the public on 02:02:08 with the LIGHTWAVE festival and exhibition launching a very busy eleven months…

This is not only a flagship project for Trinity but one for Ireland as well and one that I am unhesitatingly enthusiastic about.
Dr Martin Naughton Science Gallery founding patron.

Click here to download the Science Gallery 2008 Annual Report