D.A.T.A. Open Here

CTVR / The Telecommunications Research Centre, in collaboration with the Dublin Art and Technology Association (D.A.T.A) present Open Here, a four day festival that addresses social, technological and cultural issues surrounding the notion of the digital commons at Science Gallery during HACK THE CITY. Programme details and times coming soon.

What does it mean to be open today?

If we speak of ‘the commons’ today as a general phenomenon, this has a lot to do with the modes of production, consumption and distribution that have emerged over the last two decades around information and communication technologies. This period has seen a growing emphasis on the social and juridical implications of sharing in the online domain, where a range of nonmarket and non-proprietary activities such as open source software, remix culture and commons-based peer production have lead some to propose the advent of a ‘digital socialism’. However, as sharing and openness become the watchwords of the new corporation – as the commons is increasingly central to capitalism – such positions are no longer straightforward.

Open Here will bring together a transdisciplinary community of critical theorists, engineers, artists, designers and industry professionals to expand debates surrounding the digital commons. Key points of discussion will include the conflictive spaces of the digital commons, tactical media, net-art, digital policy, disruptive wireless practices, alternative spectrum ownership models, next-generation networks and the political economy of infrastructure.

This festival take the form of talks, presentations, workshops, discussions and screenings. It will be held in Science Gallery and in CTVR headquarters in Trinity College and runs from June 28th to July 1st, 2012.

Participants include:

Amelia Andersdotter (SE)
Michel Bauwens (BE)
Ralph Borland (ZA)
Sarah Browne (IRL)
Alexamder Chemeris (RU) 
Florian Cramer 
Linda Doyle (IE) 
Jessica Foley (IE) 
Fairwaves (RU) 
Benjamin Gaulon (FR/IE) 
Lourens Rozema (NL)
Robert Horvitz (US) 
Dmytri Kleiner (UA/CA)
Franco lacomella (AR) 
Nicolas Maigret 
Sascha Meinrath (US) (tbc)
Eoin O’Dell (IRL) 
Rachel O’Dwyer 
Julian Oliver (NZ) 
Nora O’Murchu 
Jussi Parikka (FI) 
Tom Rondeau (US) 
Paul Sutton 
Danja Vasiliev (RU) 
Martin Weiss (US) 
Harald Welte
Mick Wilson and Thomas Wilson (IE)

To book your place in workshops and events please use the general booking form for the festival →

  • Date: 
  • Time: 
  • Where: Science Gallery
  • Price: Free, but registration required

What’s On